The Jarman Award

The Jarman Award 2017

Image of Jarman Award 2017 - award ceremony

The 10th Film London Jarman Award was won by Oreet Ashery.

The winner of the 2017 Film London Jarman Award was announced on 20 November 2017 at a celebratory event at Curzon Soho. The winner received prize money of £10,000. Channel 4 also supported the award by commissioning all the shortlisted artists to produce new films for their acclaimed Random Acts arts strand.

The 2017 Shortlist:



The shortlisted artists’ work included single-screen works, web series and immersive gallery installations that weave in music and performance and blur the boundaries between fiction and documentary. From a darkly gothic fairy tale about a girl who wants to change her voice to an artwork that operates in the field of human rights activism. From autobiographical works filmed on an iPhone to augmented reality sculptural works. Subjects ranged from collective dance performance to death in the digital age. Together, the artists selected for 2017 Jarman Award shortlist provided an important insight into the country’s very best moving image artists working now.

The 2017 Jarman Award Jury said: “The work of this year’s shortlisted artists is highly attuned to the challenging and rapidly changing world that it engages with. Working at the interface between contemporary filmmaking and performance, forensics, augmented reality, choreographed, participatory and activist practices, each artist has developed a highly distinctive voice that brings us up close to the complex conditions of human experience in the context of major social, political and cultural forces.”

The 2017 Jury:

  • Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery
  • Catherine Bray, Editor, Random Acts, Channel 4
  • Shona Illingworth, Artist
  • Peter Taylor, Director, Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival
  • Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, Director, Genesis Cinema
  • Andrea Lissoni, Senior Curator, International Art (Film), Tate Modern and Film London Board Member

The 2017 Tour:

The 2017 Jarman Award tour presented an extensive series of events at venues across the UK in autumn 2017, presenting films by each of the six shortlisted artists: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Oreet Ashery, Adham Faramawy, Melanie Manchot, Charlotte Prodger and Marianna Simnett, alongside artist talks.

As in previous years, the 2017 tour culminated in an extended two-day programme of expanded events at London's Whitechapel Gallery over the weekend of 18-19 November - see full details

The Film London Jarman Award is a prestigious annual prize which recognises and supports the most innovative UK-based artists working with moving image, and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers.

Launched in 2008 and inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, the Jarman Award is unique within the industry in offering both financial assistance and the rare opportunity to produce a new moving image work.

The Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Duncan Campbell, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Elizabeth Price and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

The Film London Jarman Award is presented by Film London in association with Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery.

The Jarman Award in context

FLAMIN uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close