Jarman Award 2019

Image of Jarman Award 2019 - identity image_v1

The Jarman Award 2019 shortlisted artists

From cutting-edge digital animation to analogue 16mm film, the work of the shortlisted artists provides a barometer of the strength and diversity of artists working with moving image today. Flickering montages of news footage, real life action, surreal TV soap operas, intense musical scoring and collaborative work with children demonstrate the spectrum of innovation within the medium. Audiences are drawn into imagined realms and are gripped by compelling narratives, whilst continually being confronted with the urgent political climate of today.

Melanie Keen, Director of Iniva said on behalf of the 2019 Jarman Award jury: “This year’s shortlist of artists astonishes in its breadth of moving image practice. From cinéma vérité to highly-scripted drama, audiences will have an opportunity to experience work by all six artists when it goes on national tour in September.”  

Video: Jarman Award 2019 trailer

The Jarman Award 2019 jury

  • Larry Achiampong & David Blandy, Artists, Shortlisted for the Award in 2018
  • Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery
  • Melanie Keen, Director, Iniva
  • Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, Director, Genesis Cinema
  • Andrea Lissoni, Senior Curator, International Art (Film), Tate Modern and Film London Board Member


The Jarman Award 2019 tour

We will be announcing the details of the 2019 Jarman Award Tour shortly. As in previous years, the 2019 tour will culminate in an extended two-day programme of expanded events at London's Whitechapel Gallery over the weekend of 16-17 November.

The 2019 winner announcement ceremony will take place on 25 November at the Barbican Centre, London, where the winning artist will recieve the £10,000 Award.

About the Award

The Film London Jarman Award is a prestigious annual prize which recognises and supports the most innovative UK-based artists working with moving image, and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers.

Launched in 2008 and inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, the Jarman Award is unique within the industry in offering both financial assistance and the rare opportunity to produce a new moving image work.

The Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Charlotte Prodger, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Duncan Campbell, Monster Chetwynd, James RichardsLuke Fowler, Elizabeth Price and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

The Film London Jarman Award is presented by Film London in association with Genesis Cinema, h Club London and Whitechapel Gallery.

FLAMIN uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close