The Jarman Award

Award History

Image of Jarman Award winner 2016 Heather Phillipson

The Jarman Award was launched in 2008, inspired by the visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman.

To mark the inaugural year of the award Film London and More4 invested in Derek, a feature length documentary about the Jarman and his work, directed by Isaac Julien and narrated by Tilda Swinton.

Previous winners of the Jarman Award are Heather Phillipson (2016), Seamus Harahan (2015), Ursula Mayer (2014), John Smith (2013), James Richards (2012), Anya Kirschner & David Panos (2011), Emily Wardill (2010), Lindsay Seers (2009) and Luke Fowler (2008).

In 2015 the Jules Wright Prize was introduced to the Award, focussed on female creative technicians working in various fields. In 2016 the Prize was awarded to editor Lucy Harris.

Find out more about Jarman Award winners and nominees from all previous years.









FLAMIN uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close