The Jarman Award

The Jarman Award 2013

Image of Jarman 2013

The 2013 Jarman Award was presented, by Film London and Channel 4, in association with the Whitechapel Gallery, to John Smith.

John Smith was selected from a shortlist of ten artists, which included Ed AtkinsBeatrice GibsonEmma HartRachel MacleanUriel OrlowCharlotte ProdgerHannah SawtellGrace Schwindt and Jessica Warboys.

The winner will be announced at a special event on 6 November at the Whitechapel Gallery and will receive combined prize money of £10,000 as well as a film commission for Channel 4's short-form arts strand, Random Acts. Three further artists will also be selected for Random Acts commissions, worth £16,000 in total.

Film London will present a UK-wide touring programme throughout September and October 2013, showcasing works by the 10 shortlisted artists. Events will take place at venues across the UK, including FACT, Liverpool, CCA, Glasgow, Nottingham Contemporary, Cornerhouse, Manchester and the Star and Shadow Cinema in Newcastle. The tour will culminate in a special weekend of screenings, Q&As and performances at the Whitechapel Gallery across Saturday 2 and Sunday 3 November.


FLAMIN uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close