The Jarman Award

The Jarman Award 2017

Image of Jarman Award 2017

The 10th edition of the Jarman Award has been launched, with the issue of invitations to nominate to curators, commissioners, producers and experts from across the country.

The Film London Jarman Award is a prestigious annual prize which recognises and supports the most innovative UK-based artists working with moving image, and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers.

Launched in 2008 and inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, the Jarman Award is unique within the industry in offering both financial assistance and the rare opportunity to produce a new moving image work.

The Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Duncan Campbell, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Elizabeth Price and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

Each year one artist is selected from a shortlist of up to ten artists to receive a £10,000 cash prize. The award is additionally supported through an on-going series of broadcast commissions for Chanel 4's Random Acts strand.

This year’s shortlist, selected from nominated artists by a jury panel, will be announced in the early summer. The national tour of the shortlisted artists' works will take place throughout the autumn and will culminate with a weekend of events at the Whitechapel Gallery in November, followed by the announcement of the Award winner in late November.

The Film London Jarman Award is presented by Film London in association with Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery.

The Jarman Award in context

FLAMIN uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close