The Jarman Award

The Jules Wright Prize

Image of Noski Deville Jules Wright Award

Launched by Film London and The Wapping Project alongside the 2015 Jarman Award, The Jules Wright Prize for Female Creative Technicians is a new award funded by the Women's Playhouse Trust (WPT) which seeks to recognise, reward and highlight UK-based female creative technicians who have played a significant role in the area of artists' moving image production.

Named after the late founder of The Wapping Project, Jules Wright, a successful theatre director, curator and long-time champion of women in the arts, the Prize forms part of the annual Film London Jarman Award and sees a £5,000 prize presented to one of four shortlisted nominees.

The inaugural Jules Wright Prize focused on cinematographers. The 2015 Jules Wright Prize was awarded to Noski Deville in recognition of the tremendous impact she has made on the field of cinematography, the breadth of her work and the range of artist filmmakers she has worked alongside.

The 2016 Jules Wright Prize was awarded to editor Lucy Harris in recognition of the tremendous impact she has made on the field, the breadth of her work and the range of artist filmmakers she has worked alongside.

Jules Wright Prize 2016 - Lucy Harris [original]

The 2017 edition of the Prize will feature those working in sound design.

The Jules Wright Prize 2017

Shortlist will be annouced in the summer. 

The Jules Wright Prize 2016

The shortlist for the 2016 Jules Wright Prize for Female Creative Technician was:

Nse Asuquo
Nse has contributed her creative and technical editing skills to a number of artists work but the jury were particularly impressed with the editing on John Akomfrah's triple screen 'The Unfinished Conversation ' This is extremely complicated and complex editing with wonderful juxtaposition of movement, stillness, sound, music, timing and rhythm. An intelligent approach that evokes rather than dictates, creating multi-layered levels of engagement and a real presence.

Ariadna Fatjo-Vilas
Ariadna's highly experienced, skilled, empathetic and collaborative approach has added context, texture and pacing to a number of artists' works. She has a strong documentary sensitivity, which enables the work to balance elements of narrative, documentation and humour. Her intelligent handling and balancing of documentary and performance elements allows the viewer space for contemplation and imagination.

Sue Giovanni
Sue has had a significant technical and creative input and impact on a wide range of artists work throughout her extensive career. During this time, spanning many technical changes and innovations, she has maintained and developed her exacting technical knowledge and continued to facilitate work to a high level including work as an online editor and colourist. She is respected and highly regarded for her exceptional command of the technology and an ability to apply it creatively, alongside her considered, calm and open approach and generosity of spirit.

Lucy Harris
Lucy is a highly regarded editor who has an extensive knowledge of artists' moving image work, both historical and contemporary, bringing an intellectual overview to her work. She has a facility for sharing her extensive knowledge of different editing platforms and approaches and as an artist herself has a profound understanding of the artistic process that enables her to be particularly supportive and insightful.  Her intelligent, collaborative and sensitive approach has positively contributed to both the rhythmic qualities and the conceptual structure of a diverse range of artists' works.

The Jules Wright Prize 2015

The shortlist for the 2015 Jules Wright Prize for Female Creative Technician was:

Noski Deville
Taina Galis
Suzie Lavelle
Margaret Salmon

FLAMIN uses cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy Close